Me a sinner!!

‘My Sins against Gender-Stereotypes’ – the tag started by IHM, has spread like wildfire, and everyone I know has been more than excited to share their story!! Going by the posts done on the very same day 🙂

I have been tagged by Uma to do this awesome tag 😀 Thanks Uma! The tag needs me to list 10 things that I have done which was opposed to my gender stereotype!! I know I have not been the typical girly types but I never gave a thought to this coz I didnt know for quite a long time about gender stereotypes, conditioning and the like. Loved what Pinoo says… ‘I never knew for a long time that girls and boys had separate lives, separate lifestyles, separate games, separate minds…’

In fact, I used to be shocked to hear things like… ‘Boys should not touch the broom sweep the house… it will bring bad luck’, ‘A girl should not walk on the same road many times in a day. It gives a bad impression’. 🙄

So, here are some things that I did… and some that I do even now 🙂

1) I laugh heartily!!

2) I have a mind of my own and my decisions won’t consider ‘what will other’s think?’ ‘what will others say?’ Also, I have walked on the same road many times in a day, never bothering about what someone will think 😀

3) Rode the bicycle with both my hands in the air!!!

4) I was neither afraid of the dark nor of the creepy/slimy creatures!

5) Was the first girl to wear jeans to the college. That too in the 1st year itself; no awkwardness at being a junior! Our college was a boys college until a couple of years before I joined… a government one at that! The other girls in my batch waited till they got to the 3rd year to wear jeans to the college!!

6) I manage my money, understand tax planning and even file my IT returns online. All this I’ve learnt by myself 🙂

7) I have changed fused bulbs and attended to all problems electrical. Not that I have been able to fix everything… but I would attempt to.

8 ) I dont use make up. Didn’t go to a parlor or got make up done by professionals even for my wedding!!

9) I look at people in the eye while talking.

10) I dont have too many clothes or bags or shoes.

Well, there are a few more things. When I started out, I didnt think I would get all 10. Now 10 seems to be inadequate! So i will continue 😀

11) Dislike jewellery in everyday life, just the minimum for me. Dont overdo it even on occassions.

12) Hate to talk the usual things that most ladies in the neighborhood do. About food, in laws, husbands, children…general gossip… you get the drift? Actually I avoid them for these reasons.

13) Played cricket, gilli danda, though for a short period. Climbed trees.

14) Like dogs; had a pet named guddu.

15) Love reading books more than embroidery.

16) Not very fond of shopping.

17) I dont display my emotions outside of my home. That is, I dont keep a sad face or cry in front of anyone other than my family members. Never try to create sympathy for myself, I hate that!

18) I even rode a scooter… the regular Hamara Bajaj! not a girls scooterette.

Thats quite a list ❗ I thoroughly enjoyed doing this one 🙂 I tag Shruti, Swati, Titaxy, Trishna, Momo’s Ma, Shankari, Coffee Bean, Comfy, Smartassbride, Priya, Shilpa and Sunita. Hope you all will enjoy doing this too!

Woohoo… this is the first time I’ve been able to tag so many people. The tag always came to me last… when most friends had already done it. So once again, thanks Uma for tagging me 🙂

31 thoughts on “Me a sinner!!

Add yours

    1. 1. Love the laughter.

      2. Great…thats the way to go….

      3. Hey, I havent tried that…now I am thinking…

      4 Reptiles – no ??? Becos, I am !!!

      5 U paved the way for them…cool….Jeans are my fav too…

      6 Thats the spirit na….to attempt….

      7 Brilliant – I need to see the natural beauty !!!

      8 Hey, me too…but there are who dont like that….

      9 ha ha ha

      10 Superb…hubby can save all the money….

      11 We can be friends, Priya !!!

      12 Sinfully a boy !!!

      13 So sweet !!!

      14 Same here…

      15 Ahem…beg to be different….

      16 Bravo

      17 The one which required changing gears…WOW !!!

      Thats one looooong list…but loved it so much….actually enjoyed them too….

      Like

  1. I know, about jewellery… I love them but not too much, I’m very comfortable wearing none of it at all… there was a time, my collegemates bought earrings and chains and stored them in class, so that the day I come in without one, I can wear them and cause less scandal!!
    Crazy I say 🙂

    Like

    1. Crazy indeed! And i too love jewellery, just the minimum. I wrote in comparison to people who wear jewellery to show off their worth 🙄 which is too much down south! My relatives used to wonder why we never wore gold earrings, bangles, etc when both parents were working!!

      Like

  2. Wow, wow and wow!! (for 1, 2, 3)
    I too laugh aloud and, I think, look people in the eye when speaking to them 🙂 Make up in daily life and jewelry are not my cup of tea either!
    17 is clearly a sin against your gender stereotype!! Women are expected to cry, how else would anyone even listen to them?
    12. I can’t gossip either,but I feel those who talk about their in laws are in stressful situations and need to vent – it’s not their choice 😦 It’s just like people talk about their work place and boss and colleagues.
    6 & 7 – sinful! Women are not supposed to understand electrical appliances or moeny – these are man’s department 😆 In my house my mom handled these things and now I can handle these quite well too 🙂 So can my daughter… we are three generations of Sinners against Gender Stereotypes :mrgreen: And we are sisters in sin 🙂
    And 5th!! I am so proud to know you. I know that takes courage… and you made it easier for so many others!!! Hats off to you 🙂 Clothes may seem like a small, trivial thing, but they aren’t – if clothing was a small matter we won’t have bans, laws, rules, customs, controls and fatwas controlling them. Loved your take on the tag!!

    Like

    1. Thanks IHM!!! Makes me feel so good all over again… Of course we are sisters in sin 😀
      And our parents do have a hand in this.. isnt it? Lucky to be born to parents who let us be 🙂
      Great to know your daughter has also taken after you! hats off to you three who represent the three generations of sinners!!
      And i guess… you’re right about talking about in laws!

      Like

  3. Wowwww, I luv u so much for 17 – yay! I totally agree with that 🙂

    And this tag is really fun. We come up with more points than required and can also relate to what others say after we have blabbered enough in our own space 😀

    Awesome IHM 🙂

    Like

  4. Priya that was an awesomely done tag. No jewellery, no makeup, no emotions showing outside of the house, no shopping..I am so with you on all of these girl.

    Thank you for tagging me. 🙂

    Like

  5. I too laugh loud at times and make quite a few heads turn 😆 And I manage my own finances – tax returns, banking, everything. I hate jewelry, make up, shopping and what not 🙂

    Nicely done!

    Like

    1. Thanks Momo’s Ma!
      When I did it I was not conscious of the fact… only later I realized it! and it felt nice 🙂
      Will wait for your post.

      Like

  6. nicely done tag!! I was eyeing this tag since it has floating around blog world. thanks for tagging me. will take it up soon 🙂

    Like

  7. wow! Thanks for tagging me! I was going to do this tag two days ago, but lethargy has hit me bad! Not sure if I have 12 people to tag it to though!

    Like

Thoughts? I'd love to hear :)

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑