I was fascinated when I’d read about the cannon ball tree, especially the flowers seemed interesting and appealed to the botanist in me. It has an unusual arrangement of the stamens which has been modified into a hood. And is hence known as the Naga Linga flower and the tree is the Naga Linga tree.

Not very long ago I happened to spot a tree in the area where we go for our dance classes. And some of the days I take that route depending on traffic. Recently when I went that way I was reminded of the tree and was wondering if its in bloom and that I should go check sometime. Thing is, there’s another tree beside it and I’ve never been able to notice the blooms from afar.

Incidentally, the very next day we ended up going to that very street for a lunch treat from BIL and parking constraints ensured we parked the car near the tree! The first thing I did on getting off the car was to run to the tree !! 😀

Its incredible how wishes/thoughts manifest and then are fulfilled… in the most amazing ways!!!

Here are a few clicks taken using my mobile phone…

Couroupita1

Couroupita2

Couroupita 3

P.S: Found a nice write up and lovely pics here !! Go ahead and check it out if you are a plant/flower person like me 🙂

 

