Yes.. here I am again talking about the kids’ love for books and for reading! Isnt that wonderful 🙂 Their love for books has grown by leaps and bounds and it makes us brim with joy when we see them in love and content in the company of books! There’s a sense of peace, of fulfillment and almost an of achievement of some rare kind! The feeling cannot be expressed completely in words, me thinks 🙂

We decided to gift them books for Christmas/New Year, instead of toys. They were overjoyed to receive books as gifts! Adi unwrapped the book and went straight to the couch and started reading it. It didnt bother him that the book was titled Little Women and was indeed meant for Ammu! It was a rare sight to behold, the pose captured forever in our memories. He’s done reading Black Beauty and Robinson Crusoe since then, and I was truly surprised when I learnt of this. He even narrated the story for me, sensing my disbelief 🙂

One day he came to me with a book and was excitedly telling me that I’m better coz I gave him a ‘fat’ book whereas his dad never does. It was so cute and amusing! Seeing his enthu, I asked him to pick ‘The Adventures of Tom Sawyer’.. a book that I have preserved for so long. It is not in a very good condition, but it got him excited nevertheless.

Ammu, on her part, devours all the books that she can and is always hungry for more. Every week, she comes home and excitedly tells us all about the book she picked from her school library, about her friend who reads more than her and finishes reading so quickly. Books and book stories.. we’re all eager for more!

It also surprised us one day, when both Ammu and Adi insisted on picking up books from a book seller on the pavement, on our way back from dance class! We did pick a couple. Some days though, we’re left with no choice but to persuade them against buying more books!! Space and budget constraints… sigh!

Books are now prized possessions… companions during commute and also at bed time! What more can a book lover parent want !! 🙂

The 18th round of the meme ABC Wednesdays has begun. Linking this one to the letter B… just in time as always.

 

 

 

