One of the dictionary meanings:

fill (someone) with the urge or ability to do or feel something, especially to do something creative.

I’ve read about great people and have been wowed by their work, dedication and achievements! I have often wondered what is it that inspired them to do what they did! And how they managed to stay afloat in their times of despair and dilemma. However, I’m not sure if any of those stories of great personalities inspired me to do something. Sad fact.
But, on the other hand, I have always been inspired by the seemingly little things that people around me do.Taking time out for some cause, helping someone with their work, extending a warm friendly company to those in need, enthusiasm in whatever they undertake, admiring nature and sharing about that love unabashedly…sharing of themselves…above all being themselves and allowing others the space to be!!
I’ve been blessed to be in the company of such souls. Family, friends, people I’ve met online and gone on to forge special bonds with, my colleagues and team mates. Strangely, now as I recount this, I realize that these people and in fact, most of us live unaware of the fact that we touch others lives in ways that we do not know. I’m sure we would be surprised and perhaps overwhelmed too, if we get to know!!
A special mention needs to be made about some of the people I work with currently. Never before have I seen such a peculiar set of people all gathered in one place. They are not afraid to show their totally crazy sides and while it may seem totally weird and out of place for some, for me it was a revelation of sorts! An inspiration to be me, more of the me that I’ve always been…without any hesitation!!
This reminds me of a very famous quote by Marianne Williamson, a spiritual activist, author, lecturer and founder of The Peace Alliance.

And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give others permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.

This post is for the letter I at ABC Wednesdays.

