… sweet memories to keep forever ๐Ÿ™‚ย 

Waking her up in the morning used to be quite a task! It would take all my strength to stay calm and not panic. Especially during the days when D, our house help, had not yet joined us. It still is sometimes… which is another story altogether!! But, since D has taken over the cooking and packing of lunch boxes, I have become much more relaxed and that helps me summon the patience required ๐Ÿ™‚

Over the course of time, I realized that instead of saying or chanting ‘get up’ its better to say things that will catch her attention and make her respond.

Initially, I would try to wake her up by askingย how she would like to tie her hair. One pony or two ponies ๐Ÿ™‚ A lover of long hair and pony tails, she would wake up excitedly with her hairstyle on her mind!!

On some really difficult days, I would try to think if there was anything special about that day. Luckily, for me, most of the times it used to be a Tuesday!! Which made my job so much easier… I would tell her that it is the most special day because she was born on a Tuesday!! and, that would bring a on huge smile ๐Ÿ˜€

Then, gradually came the days of preferences ! .. with regard to her classes ๐Ÿ™‚

I ask her, what interesting class do you have today? And she wakes up excitedly!! She asks me to guess what interesting class she has and as I try to figure it out for the day, she’s up and about!

Art n Craft, Library, PT, Activity and Computer lab are her favourite periods at school ๐Ÿ™‚

I guess, she sub consciously awaits this question everyday… the day I wake her up without asking, she reminds me that I have not asked her the question ๐Ÿ™‚

One thing that has remained through all this is that I carry her from the bed, make her pray as in join her hands before the Ganesha, and then drop her in the bathroom ๐Ÿ™‚ From the time she was a kutti lil one to the now biggg girl… Sigh! ย Its something that I enjoy doing every morning…ย wonder till when I’ll be able to continue doing it

Next academic year, classes will start a bit earlier, supposedly to escape peak hour traffic. She has assured me that she’ll wake up early and get ready on time without any fuss. What will actuallyย happen, remains to be seen ๐Ÿ˜›

