I showed this site of Origami instructions to Ammu and she decided that she wanted to make a Dahlia flower.

Since it was Independence day, I suggested that we make one using the colours of the tricolour. But we did not have the coloured papers. Ammu said she would colour the paper herself. At first she coloured the white sheets using crayons. And made the petals. But, the petals came unstuck due to the wax.

She did not give up, though. In the evening, she again coloured the sheets using water colour. When the sheets dried up, she made the petals and stuck them using fevicol. This time, the flower was done successfully πŸ™‚

Here are the instructions.

The lil lady at work .. with crayons..
Colouring with water colours..
The origami flower …

Ammu was very pleased with the outcome πŸ™‚ She took the flower to her school the next day. And was very excited that her teacher put it on the notice board!!

I tried my hand at making a wrist band for Ammu. Made this one using Anchor embroidery thread. Luckily, I had them in the right colours πŸ™‚

Wrist band… also in the colours of the tricolour!

During high school days, some of my friends used to make such bands for Friendship day! This was my first attempt πŸ™‚ Ammu has taken a huge liking for bands these days, which sort of inspired me to try it out. Ammu liked it very much and wore it to school the next day!!

All in all.. a day spent doing our favorite things πŸ™‚
Linking this to the August challenge at Artsy Craftsy Mom’s πŸ™‚

