One full moon day, I promised Ammu that I would take her to the terrace when I come back from work. So I took the two of them to the terrace to look at the Moon. They said that it looked very beautiful 🙂 I also pointed out to the soothing moonlight all around us. While savouring the lovely sight of the night sky with the moon and little stars, the moonlit space around us, Ammu wondered.. ‘Mamma we cannot count the stars na?’ Spontaneously, Adi *pointing skywards*: ‘One, two, three….* At his age, he thinks that counting the stars is definitely possible 😉

*****

One day, at bed time Ammu was upset. She said ‘ thata didnt allow me to see TV. Thats why I’m angry’. I tried to reason saying ‘ You watched TV in the afternoon na. So you should let thata watch in the evening. And you have your homework to do or read for the tests. He wont have any such thing to do na’
Ammu spontaneously: ‘Ok then..we will send thata also to school. Maybe he can go to 2nd or 4th std’ 😀
Me trying to supress the giggle: ‘Talk to your HM ma’am and tell me. We’ll send him’ 😀

*****

Recently, Ammu has realised that mamma’s name is very popular..heroines/kids in serials, movies go by that name. Once while watching a movie, she didnt seem very happy on hearing the name. When asked what happened, she said : ‘Why is it always Priya and not my name? 😦  🙄
I told her that she has a name that is not so common. Probably, she’ll be glad about this when she grows up 🙂 Dont think she can appreciate it now!!

*****

Ammu is very particular about going to bed with me. She refuses to sleep with anyone else. In fact for most things like bathing her, getting her ready for school, etc she insists that I should do it. Though at times she allows others to do it for her. But, to bed, she must go only with me.

One night, she was particularly adamant and refused to heed to the requests from sis and BIL2. She said ‘I like to be with you only mamma. Everyone likes to be with their mamma na…’ Then, as an afterthought she continued ‘ everyone likes to be with mamma except one… Adi!!’  😀 he is his baba’s son and asks for his mamma only sometimes 🙂

*****

During Ammu’s tests…

Sometimes, while getting her ready for school in the morning I casually ask her some questions, those she would have not remembered or answered the previous night. Sometimes she answers, at other times she confidently says ‘Mamma I will think and write something. You dont worry’ 😀 Earlier I had noticed mistakes in her worksheets which I know were due to the fact that she is always in a hurry to finish. So I had said ‘You should not be in a hurry. You should always think and write’ 🙂

*****

While on a walk, I point out the lovely pink tabebuias to her. Leafless, the rows of trees were bathed in soft pink. Spontaneously, she asks ‘Mamma is it spring?’ 😀 I was amazed and excited that she could make the connect 🙂

*****

One evening, while I was talking to her about her day..she says ‘Mamma i like to be in school only… more than home.’ Me *a little concerned*: ‘why? everyone likes home na? why you dont like?’
She *spontaneously and emphatically*: I know. But it is different for me mamma!!
Already acknowledging and asserting that she’s different!!!

*****

