A Little princess by Frances Hodgson Burnett. The abridged version of this book was given to me as an award for Morals when I was in the 8th std which was almost 22 years ago!! Even to this day, I’m not very sure as to why they chose me for this prize. Was it based on marks or did it have something to do with my behaviour I do not know. However, it was perhaps the first book that I owned and I had been excited to receive it amidst applause of the students and teachers at the award ceremony. That made it special for me. But the reason why I cherish it even to this day is the story of the little princess Sara, which left a lasting impression on me. The inherent goodness of the little princess was at once enchanting and empowering to me. It enforced my belief that goodness has its own merits. And that goodness at heart is what will bring you lasting peace and contentment. And will help us be one with the universe. Something which I have believed in and have endeavoured to practice to the extent possible.

The book cover.

The certificate pasted on the inside of the cover.

AΒ brief outline of the story can be found here. I do not know if it can be for real. But I’m sure compassion, empathy, good will are virtues which should be emulated and nurtured. Empathize every single time. Always give others the benefit of doubt and never pass a judgement off hand. Don’t feel jealous. Don’t grudge others their success and glory. Don’t crib and whine. And be grateful.. for everything! These are a few things that I have imbibed from the book. I try to live accordingly… trying all the while. There are instances where I have been taken advantage of, have been cheated… betrayed. But I have not given up on what I have been and what I am. For I trulyΒ believe, that in the long run, goodness will have its own fruits.

The story of Sara has impacted my way of thinking … and being. I dont think i can elaborate on all the lines that have had an impact, here are a couple of scenes… courtsey google πŸ™‚

Acknowledge that you may be better because you are placed in better circumstances. And have a heart… empathize with those who aren’t as privileged as you are.

Acknowledge your limitations … and try to overcome them in a better way. Try to always look for the good in everyone and every situation.

I don’t know if the content of the book helped me form my habits and cultivate my temperament. Or if I felt that my innate qualities and beliefs were vindicated by the story. Either way, I connect with the book and cherish it. And each time I read it, I’m enchanted and almost always, it brings up a lump in the throat. For me, this book is not just about memories but about a way of life, to be cherished for all times to come πŸ™‚

Even after moving cities and houses, the book has stayed with us. Dad never ever disposes off books, no matter what their Β condition. On a recent visit to our home in Mysore, I went through the books. And was so glad to find it. Pages brown and with the typical smell of old books πŸ™‚ Ammu was also excited about the book, because it contained my name and my school name. And when I told her it was a prize, she was impressed. I brought back with me and it now sits in my book shelf. I’m sure Ammu will pick it up when she is able to read it. Probably I’ll buy her a new one to read since the pages are popping out of the book that I have. Anyway, I really hope she too will imbibe some of the quaint and lovable manners of Princess Sara πŸ™‚ As for Adi… I’m not sure if Princess stories will interest him. Only time will tell!! I just wish that he’ll read it too πŸ™‚

I came across this contest at blogadda just yesterday. I so wanted to do this post but thought that wouldn’t be able to with so little time left for the deadline. But I just had to and here it is.I’m so glad that I could write this down πŸ™‚

Friends of Books - Library that delivers and I connect with bloggers at BlogAdda.com

