For sometime now, I’ve been getting friend requests on FB from my schoolmates. It is nice to catch up and see where they are … But my true quest was for 2 of my dearest friends; they didnt seem to be there on FB or on Orkut 😦

One had settled in Belgaum itself and the other in Mumbai. We were in touch for quite some years, though with gaps of a year or more sometimes! And our excitement and the ability to catch up from where we left had always amazed me πŸ™‚

Luckily, I got in touch with both of them. One story I had written just a while ago… Here is the other one πŸ™‚

I was constantly in touch with my Belgaum friend. Her number was in my memory and I would not lose her I thought. But one fine day, when I called her, there was no answer!!! And subsequent calls didnt help either. The phone would be either switched off or there would be no answer. And I was dismayed 😦 In the meantime, I lost my cellphone and there was no way she could contact me!

The number that I had, was her official one… she worked for Airtel. All my thoughts were… ‘she must have quit her job and joined elsewhere’, ‘she must have lost her phone and got another number’ None of that helped though 😦 And whenever I felt like I would just call her number. But finally I gave up after lots of failed attempts.

Two years later…
One day, I was casually talking to my teammate who had joined recently. He told me that he had worked for AirtelΒ earlier. And I told him that one of my friends used to also work for Airtel. He recollected her instantly when I told her name!! Though based out of Belgaum, she used to come to B’lore for the meetings. He assured me that he could find out her number if she still worked for AirtelΒ and I was ecstatic!!! A few phone calls later we discovered that her number was the same and she still worked for Airtel!!Β Unbelievable ❗

When I finally contacted her she told me that she had gone on a maternity leave and so didn’t take calls on the official number!! And that her son was almost 2 years now. I was super excited on hearing this, coz she had finally been blessed with a baby after almost 10 years of marriage, after a lot of effort, despair and hopelessness. And now recently, she sent me Β a friend request on FB too!!

I’m really really excited and happy that we 3 are in touch now πŸ™‚ And somehow, I hope this will last… though we may not call or text each other very frequently. I’m sure we’ll stay in touch πŸ™‚ This time got their hubby’s number, landline number and personal email ids 😎

P.S: This friend’s sis owns a boutique in Belgaum. My friend from Karwar, whom I spoke about in the earlier post, happened to visit this boutique. And from the sis, she got the friend’s number and from her, got my number!! This is esp for you Swaru πŸ™‚

